June 19, 2024, Synopsis of Council Minutes

Funeral and Cremation Services Council of Saskatchewan
Council Meeting
Wednesday, June 19, 2024

9:00 a.m. 

Synopsis of Minutes

Present:  Lisa Bos-Atchison, Chairperson; Mark Muir; Chelsea Krentz; Shannon Leson; Louise Ernst; Scott Moffat; Margaret Lissel; Gay Patrick; Alan Thomarat; Denny Huyghebaert, Deputy Superintendent of Funeral and Cremation Services

Regrets:  Amanda Selsky, Vice-Chairperson

Staff Present: Tanya Chernick-Aldridge, Office Administrator; Kim Eberts, Resource & Compliance Officer; Colin Bachynski, Registrar

An in-camera meeting was held prior to the Council meeting.

There have been three complaints since the last meeting of Council.  One of the two complaints was logged as a motion of Council at their May 21st, 2024, Council meeting, with two new complaints received in writing by consumers.  There have been seven compliance reviews completed since the last meeting of Council.

The following motions were passed:

  • Refer the minimum age of a crematorium technician question to the Legislative & Governance Committee for their review and inclusion in bylaw.
  • Registrar to research how other jurisdictions proceed with qualifications of licensees to their regulatory board.
  • Due to the extenuating circumstances of the power outage at the time of the AGM, Council grants 1 CEU to those licensees who were registered and logged in at the time of the power outage.
  • Accept the April 2024 Revenue & Expense Reports as presented.
  • Accept all motions made in-camera.
  • The Chairperson of Council appoints the following:
    • Louise Ernst to the Audit/Finance Committee and the Education & Professional Development Committee
    • Chelsea Krentz as the Chairperson of the Education & Professional Development Committee
    • Amanda Selsky to remain as the Chairperson of the Communications Committee
    • Alan Thomarat to remain as the Chairperson of the Discipline Committee
    • Scott Moffat to remain as the Chairperson of the Human Resources Committee
    • Shannon Leson to remain as the Chairperson of the Legislative & Governance Committee
    • Lauren Weafer to remain as the Chairperson of the Pandemic Planning Committee

 The next meeting of Council will be held on September 18th, 2024.

In the interest of timely disclosure, this synopsis of Council Minutes is posted for your information only.  This is a summary only and is not to be used in place of the office version.  Official Council Minutes are not created until the transcript of the minutes is reviewed and adopted by Council at a subsequent monthly meeting.  To inquire into any matter arising from this summary, please contact the Registrar.