May 8, 2014 Annual General Meeting Synopsis of Minutes

Funeral and Cremation Services Council of Saskatchewan
Annual General Meeting
Thursday, May 8th, 2014
Radisson Hotel Saskatoon
3:30 p.m. 


Present: Peter Anctil, Resource & Compliance Officer; Raymond Bailey, EFDS 480; Lance Bergen, EFDS 487; Lisa Bos, EFDS 5225; Lyle Burkell, EFDS 428; Pierre Charpentier, EFDS 415; Tanya Chernick-Aldridge, Administrative Assistant; Robert Clothier, EFDS 365; Don Cody, S 5231; Elden Conley, EFDS 5157; Lynn Constantinoff, EFDS 379; Connie Danyliuk, EFDS 507; Megan Donlevy, EFDS 5226; Bill Edwards, FDS 3033; Morgan Edwards, EFDS 5200; Jessie Eggerman, EFDS 5276; Agnes Ewen, Appointed Council Member; Darren Fedusiak, EFDS 433; Leeann Fedusiak, FDS 3036; Phil Fredette, EFDS 404; Gerald Funk, FDS 3039; Stefan Funk, EFDS 5161; Neysa Gee, EFDS 564; Thomas Geiger, EFDS 490; Joshua Gillis, EFDS 5283; David Grambo, EFDS 309; Elan Grondin, FDS 3044; Patrick Grondin, EFDS 457; Doug Hanley, EFDS 5239; Terry Hastings, EFDS 418; Keith Hawken, EFDS 429; Darin Hoffman, EFDS 451; Jerome Joseph, FDS 3058; Denton Keating, EFDS 329; Bonnie King, EFDS 547; Nancy Kirk, Appointed Council Member; Michael Leishman, S 5187; Shannon Leson, EDS 468; Jody Lewis, EDS 461; Todd Lumbard, EFDS 568; Sandy Mahon, Registrar; Gloria Malinoski, EFDS 550; Wallace Markewich, EFDS 469; Ron McEachern, FDS 208; Deryk Meszaros, EFDS 5260; Don Moriarty, EFDS 260; Earl Mosewich, EFDS 398; Robert Neitling, EFDS 508; Ronald Neitling, EFDS 352; Jeff Ofstie, EFDS 524; Michael Penner, S 5306; Sean Peters, S 5220 Lorne Puffalt, EFDS 431; Kurtis Rae, EFDS 5155; Janet Ricciuti, Owner; Dani Ringrose-Hobbs, EFDS 5166; Randy Rogalsky, EFDS 342; Kirby Sarvas, EFDS 5253; Bernadette Schneider, FDS 3121; Richard Schneider, EFDS 334; Donald Sheppard, EFDS 293; Eleanor Shumay, Appointed Member of Council; Kim Stewart, Administrative Assistant; Brian Stobbs, EFDS 516; Robert Tait, FDS 3136; Darcy Thomas, EFDS 425; Jim Thomas, EFDS 226; Robert Volk, Appointed Council Member; Trevor Watts, EFDS 542; Jeff Weafer, EFDS 517; Jennifer Wildeman, EFDS 5192; Amanda Williams, EFDS 5256; Larry Wilson, Superintendent of Funeral and Cremation Services; Roy Wright, EFDS 326; Lew Young, EFDS 330; Donald Zehner, EFDS 432; Leanne Zip, FDS 3157; Terry Zip, EFDS 502 

Guests:            Betty Budz, Gravure Craft Ltd.; Ed Budz, Gravure Craft Ltd.; Faye Doucette, President, Funeral Association of Canada; Jennett Jackson, The Funeral Chronicle; Mark MacEachern, The Funeral Chronicle; Nerissa McNaughton, Canadian Funeral News  

Minutes taken by:     Kim Stewart

Faye Doucette, President of Funeral Service Association of Canada (FSAC) was welcomed and she addressed the attendees. 

A motion was passed to ratify new and amended bylaws and schedule of forms created since the last AGM with the exception of bylaw 2014(2)(a).

A motion was made to re-evaluate bylaw 2014(2)(a) but the motion was defeated.  A further motion was made to approved bylaw 2014(2)(a) and the motion was carried. 

A motion was made to accept the committee reports as presented and a further motion was passed to approve KPMG as auditors for 2014. 

The following individuals were elected to Council:

  • Raymond Bailey – 3 year term
  • Gloria Malinoski – 3 year term
  • Terry Zip – 2 year term – to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Jeff Ofstie 

Motions were made to destroy the ballots from the election. 

A motion was made from the floor to strike a committee of council including public appointees to review the regulatory fee.  The motion carried. 

Meeting adjourned at 4:50 p.m.

In the interest of timely disclosure, this synopsis of Council Minutes is posted for your information only.  This is a summary only and is not to be used in place of the office version.  Official Council Minutes are not created until the transcript of the minutes is reviewed and adopted by Council at a subsequent monthly meeting.  To inquire into any matter arising from this summary, please contact the Registrar.